Projects

The Knowledge Transfer Centre West focuses on five core areas, which we would like to introduce to you in this section.

Thematic core areas of the WTZ West  / Phase 2

A special feature of the Knowledge Transfer Center West is the deployment of the consortium partners, which are now (2019-2021) distributed to the locations Dornbirn, Innsbruck, Kufstein, Salzburg, Linz, Hagenberg, Wels and Steyr. The individual partner organizations are thus geographically separated over several hundred kilometers. Therefore, a well thought-out and comprehensive communication system is of particular importance for the successful coordination of the consortium and the individual cooperation projects. This wide range of planned activities in the context of the WTZ West optimally binds the eleven participating institutions and allows each university to set its own priorities in the project in line with its content.

 


Project “Communication.Hub.West”

This project draws on the already gained results of the first WTZ West Phase, in order to further develop and professionalize them for sustainable use in practice. Always from the point of view of internal and external communication, the project focuses on the established topics of networking, knowledge transfer and further education – the main emphasis is on science and project communication. Opportunities for development for new, innovative projects in the area of ​​knowledge and technology transfer come into play, too. The partners of the WTZ West bring a variety of prerequisites and experience into the cooperation, which means challenge, development potential and opportunities alike.


Project “Economic and Industrial Cooperations”

Contact with the local and international business and industry serves as an essential element in knowledge and technology transfer at universities. The aim of this project is to expand cooperation between universities and business and industry, to initiate joint research projects and thus to provide important impulses for knowledge and technology transfer. The following measures are planned for this purpose: further development of the Entrepreneurship online course, the implementation of a series of seminars on the pharmaceutical value chain, events on subsidies for university-economic cooperation, holding a career summit and workshops on knowledge transfer through Connected Learning.


Project “New paths in knowledge- and technology-transfer”

Universities and technical colleges in Upper Austria, Salzburg, Tyrol and Vorarlberg are establishing a sustainable exchange of experience about their IPR strategies in order to jointly open up new paths in knowledge- and technology-transfer. The partners discuss intellectual property rights strategies in the light of open science and open innovation. In addition, they are testing new forms of communication concerning copyright by also addressing those who are not usually dealing with intellectual property rights, such as: teachers. The exploitation of intellectual property should be rethought.


Project “Power Plant | Generator”

The objectives of Power Plant | Generator are interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary competence transfer (training and further education), the initiation and support of interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary research projects (Open Innovation in Science) as well as the promotion and strengthening of an open and new research culture. It is located in the middle of the Tabakfabrik Linz and in the forge Hallein in the Alte Saline on the Pernerinsel. Power Plant | Generator is supported jointly by JKU, UFG and FH Salzburg.


Project “MINT Region West”

The cooperation project “MINT Region West” addresses two different aspects: on the one hand, the topic of “MINT in elementary education”, which has so far hardly been scientifically treated, is to be dealt with prototypically. On the other hand, existing MINT-grants for adolescents will be refined based on recommendations from empirical research and practical experience and new practices will be designed. In addition to universities and colleges of the WTZ West, both work packages include companies, existing MINT initiatives, elementary education institutions and secondary schools.



Thematic core areas of the WTZ West / Phase 1

One of the WTZ West’s most important tasks in the first phase 2014-2018 was to link, bundle and advance the partners´research activities . To identify, exploit and optimize potentials, the centre focused its work on the following core areas:


Project “Information technology”

Connected by the WTZ West, the universities of Salzburg, Innsbruck and Linz were working on the joint exploitation of their information and communication technologies, with a special focus on software projects. In addition to developing exploitation strategies and financing models, this project has put emphasis on joint teaching and education activities.


Project “Physical Science”

The physical science activities of the WTZ West were focused on the development of innovation labs (also called “living labs”) to foster and support the research and transfer activities of the three university locations. As part of this project, a modular transfer model was developed to outline the different stages of the innovation chain.


Project “Biomedical Science”

This project seeked to break boundaries in biomedicine and bring the universities of Salzburg, Innsbruck and Linz closer together by fostering a proactive co-operation and bundling of competences. In addition to relevant training courses, new financing models and industry standards, work also focused on compiling a comprehensive pool of experts in the field of biomedical science.


Project “Development and exploitation of the arts, humanities and social and cultural sciences”

The WTZ West and its partners seeked to set new standards and open up fresh ways of thinking in the field of humanities by fostering an active exchange of ideas and sustainable co-operation. With a special focus on entrepreneurship and future-oriented copyright issues, this project tried to bring together universities and museums in sustainable projects for a joint exploitation of potentials. In addition, this project also included the development of a copyright guide with special consideration of open access topics.


Project “Awareness & accompanying measures”

This project constituted the organizational basis of the WTZ West, dealing with all administrative matters from network activities to communication, data management and process optimization. What’s more, this project also dealed with the development of incentive schemes as well as with national and international networking. In addition to maintaining the virtual platform of the WTZ West, this project also tried to raise awareness among researchers.

Projekte

Schwerpunktmäßig fallen die Aufgabengebiete des Wissenstransferzentrums West in fünf übergeordnete Teilbereiche, die wir Ihnen hier kurz vorstellen.

 

Thematische Schwerpunkte des WTZ West / Phase 2

Eine Besonderheit des Wissenstransferzentrums West ist die Dislozierung der Konsortialpartner, die sich nun (2019-2021) auf die Standorte Dornbirn, Innsbruck, Kufstein, Salzburg, Linz, Hagenberg, Wels und Steyr verteilen. Die einzelnen Partnerorganisationen sind somit über mehrere hundert Kilometer geographisch voneinander getrennt. Daher kommt einem durchdachten und umfassenden Kommunikationssystem  eine besonderem Bedeutung für die erfolgreiche Koordination des Konsortiums und der einzelnen Kooperationsvorhaben zu. Diese große Bandbreite an geplanten Aktivitäten im Rahmen des WTZ West binden die insgesamt elf beteiligten Institutionen optimal ein und erlauben es jeder Hochschule, ihrer inhaltlichen Ausrichtung entsprechend eigene Schwerpunkte im Projekt zu setzen.


Projekt Kommunikations.Hub.West

Dieses Projekt greift auf bereits gewonnene Ergebnisse der ersten WTZ West Phase zurück, um diese für den nachhaltigen Einsatz in der Praxis weiter zu entwickeln und zu professionalisieren. Stets unter dem Gesichtspunkt der Kommunikation nach innen und außen, fokussiert sich das Projekt einerseits auf die etablierten Themen Vernetzung, Wissenstransfer und Weiterbildung – der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der Wissenschafts- und Projektkommunikation. Andererseits kommen hier auch Entfaltungsmöglichkeiten für neue, innovative Vorhaben im Bereich Wissens- und Technologietransfer ins Spiel. Die Partner des WTZ West bringen unterschiedlichste Voraussetzungen und Erfahrungen in die Kooperation mit, was Herausforderung, Entwicklungspotentiale und Chancen gleichermaßen bedeutet.


Projekt Wirtschafts- und Industriekooperationen

Der Kontakt zur lokalen und internationalen Wirtschaft und Industrie dient als wesentliches Element im Wissens- und Technologietransfer an Hochschulen. Das gemeinsame Ziel in diesem Projekt ist es, Kooperationen von Hochschulen mit Wirtschaft und Industrie auszubauen, gemeinsame Forschungsprojekte anzustoßen und somit wichtige Impulse für den Wissens- und Technologietransfer zu setzen. Hierzu sind unter anderem folgende Maßnahmen geplant: Weiterentwicklung des Entrepreneurship-Online-Kurses, die Umsetzung einer Seminarreihe zur Arzneimittelwertschöpfungskette, Veranstaltungen zu Förderungen von Hochschul-Wirtschaftskooperationen, Abhalten eines Karrieregipfels und Workshops zum Wissenstransfer durch Connected Learning.


Projekt Neue Wege im Wissens- und Technologietransfer

Universitäten und Fachhochschulen in Oberösterreich, Salzburg, Tirol und Vorarlberg etablieren einen nachhaltigen Erfahrungsaustausch über ihre IPR-Strategien, um gemeinsam neue Wege im Wissens- und Technologietransfer zu öffnen. Die Partner/innen diskutieren IP-Schutzrechtstrategien im Lichte von Open Science und Open Innovation. Überdies erproben sie neue Formen der Kommunikation von Urheberrechtsfragen, indem sie sich auch an für gewöhnlich nicht mit IP-Schutzrechten Befasste wenden, wie z.B. Lehrer/innen. Auch die Verwertung geistigen Eigentums soll neu gedacht werden.


Projekt Kraftwerk|Generator

Ziele von Kraftwerk|Generator sind inter‐ und transdisziplinäre Kompetenzvermittlung (Aus‐ und Weiterbildung), die Initiierung und Begleitung von inter‐ und transdisziplinären Forschungsprojekten (Open Innovation in Science) sowie die Förderung und Stärkung einer offenen und neuen Forschungskultur. Verortet wird Kraftwerk|Generator inmitten der Tabakfabrik Linz und in der Schmiede Hallein in der Alten Saline auf der Pernerinsel und wird gemeinsam von JKU, UFG und FH Salzburg getragen.


Projekt MINT Region West

Das Kooperationsvorhaben „MINT Region West” adressiert zwei verschiedene Aspekte: So soll einerseits das bislang wissenschaftlich kaum aufbereitete Thema „MINT in der Elementarpädagogik“ prototypisch bearbeitet werden. Andererseits werden bestehende MINT-Förderungen für Jugendliche basierend auf Empfehlungen aus der empirischen Forschung und Erfahrungen aus der Praxis weiterentwickelt und neue Praktiken konzipiert. In beiden Arbeitspaketen sind neben Universitäten und Fachhochschulen des WTZ West auch Unternehmen, bestehende MINT-Initiativen und Einrichtungen der Elementarpädagogik sowie Schulen der Sekundarstufe eingebunden.



Thematische Schwerpunkte des WTZ West / Phase 1

Eine der wichtigsten Aufgaben des WTZ West in der ersten Phase von 2014-2018  war es, die Forschungstätigkeiten der Partner miteinander zu vernetzen, zu bündeln und gemeinsam voranzutreiben. Besonderes Augenmerk wurde auf Verwertungs- und Optimierungspotentiale mittels folgender Themenschwerpunkte gelegt:


Projekt Informationstechnologien

Die Standorte Salzburg, Innsbruck und Linz arbeiteten im Rahmen des WTZ gemeinsam an der optimalen Verwertung ihrer Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien, besonders im Bereich Software. Neben der Konzeption von Verwertungsstrategien und Finanzierungsmodellen wurden dabei vor allem auch gemeinsame Lehr- und Schulungsaktivitäten in den Vordergrund gestellt.


Projekt Physical Science

Im Bereich Physical Science beschäftigten sich die Partner des WTZ West mit der Etablierung von Innovationslabors (so genannten „Living Labs“), um die Forschungs- und Transferaktivitäten der drei Standorte zu fördern und zu unterstützen. Hierzu soll auch ein modulares Transfermodell dienen, das die Phasen der Innovation Chain abbildet.


Projekt Biomedical Science

Durch eine aktive Kooperation und Bündelung der vorhandenen Kompetenzen wurden auch im biomedizinischen Bereich Grenzen aufgebrochen und die Zusammenarbeit der Standorte Salzburg, Innsbruck und Linz vorangetrieben. Neben der Forcierung von fachrelevanten Schulungen und der Entwicklung neuer Finanzierungsmodelle und Industriestandards konnte auch ein umfassender Expertenpool im Bereich Biomedical Science aufgebaut werden.


Projekt Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften, Entwicklung und Erschließung der Künste und Kunst

Auch im Geisteswissenschaftlichen Bereich schaffte es das WTZ West, gemeinsam mit seinen Partnern neue Standards zu setzen. Durch intensiven Austausch und nachhaltige Kooperationen entdeckte man gemeinsam Neuland: Unter anderem widmete sich das Projekt den Bereichen Entrepreneurship und zukunftsorientierte Urheberrechtsfragen und strebte durch nachhaltige Kooperationen zwischen Universitäten und Museen eine gemeinsame Nutzung vorhandener Potenziale an. Auch die Erstellung eines Urheberleitfadens unter besonderer Berücksichtigung von Open Access war Teil des Projektplans.


Projekt Awareness & Begleitmaßnahmen

Das Projekt „Awareness & Begleitmaßnahmen“ stellte sozusagen die organisatorische Säule des WTZ West dar. Hier laufen alle administrativen Fäden zusammen: Netzwerkaktivitäten, Kommunikation, Datenverwaltung und Prozessoptimierung gehörten ebenso zu den Aufgaben wie die Ausarbeitung von Anreizsystemen und die Vernetzung auf nationaler sowie internationaler Ebene. Neben der Pflege der virtuellen Plattform des WTZ West konnte so vor allem auch die Bewusstseinsschaffung unter den Wissenschaftlern und Wissenschaftlerinnen produktiv vorangetrieben werden.